Excerpt from “Civil Contingencies Act 2004: a short guide


The Act splits local responders into two categories and imposes a different set of requirements on each category. Category 1 and 2 responders in England and Wales are listed below.

Section 13 of the Act enables Ministers to amend the list of responders with the agreement of Parliament.

Category 1 responders (“core responders”)

Emergencies services

• Police forces

• British Transport Police

• Fire authorities

• Ambulance services

• Maritime and Coastguard Agency


Local authorities

• All principal local authorities (i.e. metropolitan districts, shire counties, shire districts, shire unitaries)

• Port Health Authorities


Health bodies

• Primary Care Trusts

• Acute Trusts

• Foundation Trusts

• Local Health Boards (in Wales)

• Any Welsh NHS Trust which provides public health services

• Public Health England (previously known as the Health Protection Agency)


Government agencies

• Environment Agency

• Scottish Environment Agency


Category 2 responders (“co-operating responders”)



• Electricity distributors and transmitters

• Gas distributors

• Water and sewerage undertakers

• Telephone service providers (fixed and mobile)



• Network Rail

• Train Operating Companies (passenger and freight)

• London Underground

• Transport for London

• Airport operators

• Harbour authorities

• Highways Agency


Health bodies

• Strategic Health Authorities


Government agencies

• Health and Safety Executive


Information taken from the Cabinet Office document Civil Contingencies Act 2004: a short guide (revised)




Last Updated on 18th February 2021 by Viv